Providing financial support for Texas women who wish to further their knowledge, skills, studies or service within designated areas or toward medical research is a core mission for the Texas Business and Professional Women’s Foundation, Inc. That support is offered through the form of several scholarships, all directed toward specific educational, literary and scientific purposes. These scholarship opportunities include:

Hermine Tobolowsky Scholarship

awarded to a woman of academic achievement who wishes to enter the professions of law, public service, government, political science or women’s history. Ms. Tobolowsky devoted 26 years to lobbying and testifying before legislative committees for equal legal rights. The people of Texas voted for passage of Amendment 7, the Equal Legal Rights Amendment, on November 7, 1972. On that day BPW members chanted “Oh, Thank Heaven for Amendment Seven.” In memory of Ms. Tobolowsky, BPW Dallas Inc. provided the initial funding to create a scholarship to support women pursuing public policy education. Scholarship Form

Gilda Murray Scholarship

awarded to a Texas Business Women member who is at least 25 years of age or older to obtain education or training to prepare for employment or to advance in a business or profession. The award is appropriate for those individuals who desire to continue and/or complete the educational requirements at her current job or in pursuit of a new career. Scholarship Form

Minnie L. Maffet Fellowship

provides financial assistance in further promoting medical education for women. Dr. Maffett was the first BPW/Texas President and a BPW/USA President. This scholarship was funded to assist a female graduate of a recognized medical school; post graduate research in a medical field; a female Ph.D. from a Texas university who is doing research in a medical field; a woman in need of financial aid for the first year in establishing a family practice in a rural area with a population not exceeding 5000; or a fourth-year female medical student completing a M.D. or D.O. degree at an accredited school in the State of Texas. Scholarship Form

M.D. Anderson Scholarship

awarded to a student at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center School of Health Professionals. The student is chosen according to The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer School criteria.

Power Pipeline and Leadership Texas Scholarships

awarded to a member of Texas Business Women who is selected as a participant in a Power Pipeline or Leadership Texas program. In general, applicants must be actively involved in the local community and meet other specific criteria applicable to each respective program. Additional criteria is detailed on the scholarship form. Scholarship Form

Texas Career Advancement Scholarship

The Texas Business and Professional Women’s Foundation is again administering a Texas Career Advancement Scholarship for BPW Foundation. As part of our legacy BPW partnership, we have the opportunity to recommend a recipient as the Texas nominee.

The application criteria for this scholarship are as follows. All recipients must be:

Any Texas woman who meets the above criteria may apply. The recipient does NOT need to be a member of TBW or BPW Foundation to apply. If you have a niece, daughter, granddaughter, friend or sister who might benefit from receiving a Career Advancement scholarship, please encourage her to apply. Scholarships awarded will be at least $1000. Checks for recipients will be written during August 2012, payable to the scholarship recipient and mailed to TBPWF. TBPWF will then present the scholarship to the individual before the start of the Fall 2012 academic semester.

The scholarship application and supporting documentation must be postmarked no later than July 20, 2012 if sent by postal mail or received no later than July 20, 2012 if sent via e-mail. All information should be sent to Regina A Johnson at 2637 Pine Springs Dr., Plano, TX 75093 or emailed to Regina can also be reached at 713-226-8443. No late or incomplete applications will be considered. The TBPWF Scholarship Committee will meet in July to select the Texas nominee, who will then be recommended to BPW Foundation for consideration. Scholarship Form